The Methodist Youth Fellowship in the Diocese of Owerri has concluded her 15th annual youth convention which took place from August 22 to August 26, 2012 at St Peters Methodist Church Isiekenesi, Ideator South LGA, Imo State. The convention which had the theme ‘The glory of the latter house’ was designed to prepare the youths of the fellowship for the future ahead of them, It was also aimed at equipping the youths to move the fellowship and the church  to a  greater height  as well as effec a change in leadership of the fellowship.
Speaking at the opening service of the convention, the diocesan bishop, Rt Rev O. O. Agbai charged the youths to be the kind of youths that are ready to make a difference in  the church and the country. The clergy man urged the youths to be determined to excel in life.



Bishop  Agbai enjoined the young people to be God fearing like Joseph and other youths of the old who made great marks on the lives of others through their service to God and mankind, stating that only those who are ready to work for God should be expecting the kind of favour people like Joseph, Timothy and others received in the bible.
The convention featured talk shows, seminars and other events, with Rev Ejibe Eme, Rev Sule Ayegba, Rev Igwe Uko, and Deaconess Love Madubike among the resource persons that handled the programmes at the convention. At the peak of the convention was the election of new executives who will run the affairs of the fellowship for the next three years, which saw Bro Obum Nwodo and Bro Chinedu Hardy Nwadike  become the president and Vice President respectively.
Others are Bro Kingley Egbuchilam, secretary; Bro Wisdom Ogu, Assistance Secretary; Sis Chinenye Onyeaka, Treasurer; Bro Onyemere Ikechukwu,  Financial Secretary; Bro Osinachi Osuji and Bro Chinemerem Okpara became the Public Relations Officers I & 2 respectively; Bro Osinachi Nwankwo and  Sis Chinatu Moses Auditors, Auditor I & II respectively; Bro Onyebuch Onuorah and Bro Onyebuchi Ogu, Sports Directors I & II respectively; Bro Ifeanyi Nwando and Bro Francis Ironsi, Provost I & II respectively; Bro Uju Ebelebe, Sis Nancy Okwosha and Sis Chinonso Edom Welfare Officers I, II &  III respectively.
Speaking after the election, the diocesan youth work coordinator Rev Ndubuisi Gbaruko, charged the new executives to understand the task ahead which is moving the house to greater glory, urging them to put their faith in the word of God in Hagai 2:9 “The glory of the latter house shall greater than the former”
The cleric urged everyone to support and pray for the new executives, because their success and failure depends on it. In a farewell message, the outgoing president, Bro Bight Onwuchekwa thanked everyone for the support and love shown to him and the members of his executives, he also urged the house to show even more love and support to the incoming executives to see the fellowship moves to a greater height.
In a welcome speech, Bro Obum Nwodo, the president elect, thanked everyone for choosing him and the others in the new executives and said that the general house should understand that without their support, love and prayers, nothing will be achieved in the ‘latter house’  Other activities at the convention were competitions among the participating circuits, which include male and female table tennis, bible quiz, essay writing and sword drill.
The defending Champions, Orji Circuit retained the Best Circuit title with four golds and one silver, while Mbieri Circuit came second followed by Awalla Circuit.
Accepting the best circuit trophy, the Orji Circuit Youth President, Bro Chinedu Hardy Nwadike, thanked his members, ministers and parents for the support they have shown his three year administration which has won the trophy twice. He promised that the task of  producing leaders with the heart of a champion for his administration which ends this year, will be accomplished.
At the closing ceremony of the convention, the host presbyter Very Rev C N Nwoke, praised the youths on their good conduct during the convention and thanked them for the warm environment they have created in his once upon a time quiet compound. He thanked them for the believe on the entire Isiekenesi Circuit and prayed that God will blessed everyone who in one way or the other made the convention a success.

HAVE YOU READ?:  Gospel Audio: Victoria – My Lifter Prod. By Aizbag



the bishop, ministers and the outgoing executives after the Eucharistic service


Rt Rev O O Agbai, Bishop Diocese of Owerri, with Rev Ndubuisis Gbaruko, diocesan Youth work Cordinator



delegates and the bishop


The best circuit with the bishop

Joy in one of the praise section, freedom in the presence of the Lord


Bro Chimaobi Ekemedo, National Youth President MYF, presents a medal to Ifeanyi Nwando, winner male Table Tennis

Bro Chinedu Nwadike, President Orji Circuit, receives the best circuit trophy from Rev C N Nwoko and Rev Gbaruko while Bright Onwuchekwa, Obum Nwodo, Wilson Ukpong, Kingley Egbuchilam and other watch with interest

Outgoing Vice President Bro Uzoma Chijioke Uzoma, with some members of Orji Circuit

Bo Nwadike with some of the winners at the convention


L-R: Kingsley Egbuchilam, Obum Nwodo, Osinachi Nwankwo, Uzoma Chijioke Uzoma, Chiamaobi Ekemedo, National Youth President MYF, Chinedu Nwadike, Bright Onwuchekwa, Wilson Ukpong, Ifeanyi Nwando and Francis Ironsi