Home NewsPolitics Imo Assembly names Standing Committees’ chairmen, reaffirms suspension of members

Imo Assembly names Standing Committees’ chairmen, reaffirms suspension of members

by OtownGist

The Imo State House of Assembly has on Thursday, last week, reaffirmed its resolution on the suspension of the House-Minority leader, Hon. Obinna Egu (PDP), member representing Ngor-Okpala State-Constituency and two other APC members for Ehime Mbano, Hon. Lawman Duruji and Hon. (Mrs) Ngozi Obiefule, member for Isu State-Constituency.

Addressing the assembly on commencement of plenary, the Speaker, Acho Ihim, informed that the decision to suspend the erring lawmakers on the grounds of disrespect for assembly rules and insubordination to the speaker which was inimical to the democratic tenets of Imo State Government remains in force.

HAVE YOU READ?:  PDP governors set to pay N30,000 minimum wage

The Speaker further stated that the indefinite suspension of Hon. Egu, Hon. Duruji and Mrs Obiefule was in pursuant of relevant rules of the IMHA, as he hinted that 16 out of 24 members in the State House of Assembly signed the resolution to suspend the lawmakers.

In the same vein, the state legislature, at the wake of the suspension announced the reconstitution of the leadership of the House-Standing Committees as follows; Hon. (Mrs) Ngozi Obiefule (Tourism), Hon. Obinna Egu (Imo Foundation), Hon. Emeka Lloyd(Transport), Hon. Ifeanyi Nnataraonye (Works), Hon. Donatus Onuigwe (Public Utilities), Hon. (Mrs) Joy Mbawuike (Women Affairs), Hon (Mrs) Uju Onwudiwe (Labour/Market), Hon. (Mrs) Uche Ejiogu (Education), Hon. Kennedy Ibeh (IGR/ Pension Matters), Hon. Arthur Egwim (Public Accounts), Hon. Chika Madumere (Due Process), Hon. Ike Amuka (Local Government/Rural Development), Hon. Lawman Duruji (Civil Service), Hon. Bruno Ukoha (Finance/Due process), Hon. Ken Agbim (Ethics/Privileges), Hon. Emeka Lloyd and Hon. Victor Onyewuchi (Chairman and Vice Chairman for Lands).

HAVE YOU READ?:  Women plead for support during elections

Others are; Hon. Uche Oguwuike (Projects’ Monitoring/Evaluation), Hon. Lugard Osuji (Commerce/Industry) and Hon. Kennedy Ibeh (Information).


Related Articles