Wednesday, December 7, 2022
HomeNewsNational NewsRussia’s parliament approves annexation of Ukraine’s regions

Russia’s parliament approves annexation of Ukraine’s regions

The upper house of the Russian parliament has ratified Moscow’s annexation of Ukrainian regions.

The four territories are Luhansk, Donetsk, Zaporizhzhya, and Kherson.

TASS reported that the Federation Council voted unanimously to pass a bill incorporating them into Russia.


President Vladimir Putin signed the treaties of accession last Friday; the lower house approved it on Monday.

Putin will now sign the annexation bill into law, affirming the total takeover of the regions.

The State Duma already passed laws that cover the territories’ full integration into Russia, and provide for a transitional period until 2026.

The annexation has been condemned by Western countries, with many accusing Russia of violating international laws.

We can help you create and promote standard contents across the internet/other media in Nigeria and beyond. Call/Whatsapp +2348038704454 or follow on Twitter/IG/FB @OtownGist and @HardyNwa

Leave a Comment