Federal High Court’s six new judges, FCT’s one for inauguration April 20


President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of six new judges for the Federal High Court of Nigeria and one for the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory FCT.

The new judges were approved by the Presidency as part of concerted efforts to make the ever-busy courts cope with the volume of work that may arise in the 2023 general election disputes.

A statement in Abuja on Tuesday evening from the Office of the Chief Justice of Nigeria said that the CJN, Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad, will tomorrow, April 20 swear in the new judges.


The new Judges comprised the incumbent Chief Registrar of the Federal High Court, Mr Emmanuel Gakko, Bala Khalifa-Mohammed Usman, Aminu Garba, Musa Sulaiman Liman, Ahmad Gama Mahmud and Segun-Bello Mabel Taiye.

A statement by Mr Ahuraka Yusuf Issah, Senior Special Assistant to the CJN on Media, indicated that another judge appointed for the FCT High Court, Joseph Adebayo Aina will also be inaugurated along with his counterpart from the Federal High Court.

The new Judicial Officers would be sworn in at the Supreme Court complex by 2 pm.

DAILY POST recalls that the National Judicial Council, NJC, under the chairmanship of the CJN had two weeks ago recommended the successful candidates to President Buhari following their good individual performance during the interview session for the job.

Previous articleI won’t allow anyone destabilise Nigeria – Buhari
Next articleHow media stripped Buhari of ‘President’ title – FG rejects WPFI’s report