Home NewsPolitics Okigwe APC leaders, stakeholders meet, hail Okorocha, regroup for 2019

Okigwe APC leaders, stakeholders meet, hail Okorocha, regroup for 2019

by OtownGist
0 comment

Leaders of All Progressives Congress in Okigwe Senatorial Zone have met at the country home of Imo Speaker Rt. Hon. Acho Ihim, to plot a way forward for the zone ahead of 2019.

The meeting which took place at Umualumoke Okigwe, Imo State on Tuesday August 1, 2017 had the Zonal, LGA and Ward leaders  of the party present, alongside SDC Coordinators, past and serving political appointees and office holders from the zone and other stakeholders.

HAVE YOU READ?:  Youths reject Okorocha’s job scheme


Declaring the intent of the meeting, the convener and speaker Imo State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Acho Ihim, said the meeting is simply for the zone to regroup and thank the governor for what he has done in the zone and also remind him of more jobs that needs to be done in the zone, as well as his promise not to exclude the Okigwe in his 2019 plan.

Hon. Ihim made it clear that the zone will take a diplomatic approach in the issue with the governor, adding that the outcome of violently chasing Governor Rochas Okorocha is glaring in those who attempted it.

HAVE YOU READ?:  Imo guber: Ihedioha, Nwosu, Uzodinma, Araraume to know fate Saturday

While declaring the resolutions of the leaders to the party faithfuls at the event, he revealed that they have accepted that Governor Rochas Okorocha is the supreme leader of the party in the state, thanking him for projects like College of Engineering and Environmental Sciences of Imo State University, cited in Onuimo LGA and College of Education in Ihite Oboma LGA. He eulogized the governors for other appointments to sons and daughters of the zone, especially that of Hon. Simeon Iwunze as the Mayor of Okigwe and Adviser on Okigwe Mayoral Affairs.

HAVE YOU READ?:  Nigerian fan seeks political asylum in Russia.

The leaders also agreed that the meeting will be rotational as the next will be hosted by Hon. Emma Ibediro of Onuimo Local Government Area, before it will be heading to either of Ihime Mbano, Isiala Mbano, Ihite Oboma, or Obowo Local Government Areas.

Majority of those who spoke at the leaders’ meeting affirmed the position of the speaker as the leader of the zone, adding that he has every right to convene the meeting. The also added that the rotatory nature of the meeting will not affect his position as the leader, while the Speaker also saw it as brand new grassroot mobilization strategy for the party in the zone.

HAVE YOU READ?:  APGA: Imo Election Tribunal Judgment Mockery of Judiciary, Democracy

House members Hon. Kennedy Ibe (Obowo), Chinedu Ofor (Onuimo) and Hon. Dr. Uche Ejiogu (Ihite Oboma) were at the event alongside Hon. Simeon Iwunze, Prof. Nnamdi Obiraeri, Hon. Chukwunonye Irouno, Hon. B. E Osuagwu who also represented Sir. Tony Chukwu, Chief Longers Anyanwu, Hon. Emma Chiadi, Pastor Frank Onwumere, APC Zonal Chairman Hon. Chima Onwueyiagba amongst others.

Tell Your Friends About This Page
0 comment

Related Articles